Official: Man City abandon Super League

An emergency meeting is being held tonight between the 12 Super League breakaway clubs, as Manchester City officially pull out.

City released a statement this evening confirming they were working to exit the agreement.

“Manchester City Football Club can confirm that it has formally enacted the procedures to withdraw from the group developing plans for a European Super League.”

That was immediately followed by a statement from UEFA President Aleksander Ceferin.

“I am delighted to welcome City back to the European football family. They have shown great intelligence in listening to the many voices – most notably their fans – that have spelled out the vital benefits that the current system has for the whole of European football.

“As I said at the UEFA Congress, it takes courage to admit a mistake, but I have never doubted that they had the ability and common sense to make that decision.”

The 12 founding clubs are Juventus, Inter, Milan, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Manchester United, Manchester City, Chelsea, Arsenal, Tottenham and Liverpool.

It had already been reported that Chelsea and Manchester City prepared the paperwork to legally pull out of the scheme.

Barcelona President Joan Laporta said that he would not ratify their entry unless the Assembly of associates votes for it.

The Liverpool players all released a simultaneous statement declaring they were “against” the Super League.

An emergency meeting is being held over Zoom between the 12 clubs, with the project set to fall apart less than 48 hours after it was first unveiled.

Manchester United announced that executive vice-chairman Ed Woodward will step down from his role “at the end of 2021.”

The long statement, including a quote from co-chairman and vice-chair of the Super League Joel Glazer made no mention whatsoever of the Super League.